Granada, Nicaragua

TEAM (Trabajando en Equipo Aprendemos Más) Granada is an SWB core program

Follow Futbol Sin Fronteras Granada on Facebook

 

Background

Throughout Nicaragua, girls sport and recreational opportunities are not prioritized when compared to the number of opportunities offered to their male peers. Being a member of SWB Granada automatically provides participants with a strong identity to a program that offers a safety net of supportive mentors and peers that they likely would not find elsewhere in their communities. This welcoming space provides the girls with the opportunity to learn life-skills, learn soccer and receive the support necessary to become leaders within their own communities.

Description

SWB Nicaragua works most closely with girls ages 7-16 in the city of Granada located an hour south of Nicaragua's capital, Managua.  T.E.A.M. Granada initially began working with 25 girls in February, 2008, and has grown to more than 100 registered participants year-round, while supporting an additonal 1,000+ annually through camps and clinics.

Currently there are five groups, las Princesas (7-8 year olds), las Mariposas Juniors (8-10 year olds), las Mariposas Seniors (10-12 year olds), las Estrellas (12-14 years old) and Sweetlake FC (13-16 year olds). The program has also supported a Premier Women's League team for girls and women who have aged out of the Core Program. These teams practice two to three times per week depending on age and meet for activity nights an addition two days per week.  In addition to regular weekly programming, multiple workshops are offered each season in which local women share their unique expertise with the participants, or local organizations share their expertise and teach valuable lessons. Additionally, older teams compete in a predominantly male weekend soccer league and homework hours are open to all participants on weekdays activity.

In 2014, SWB Nicaragua launched a comprehensive Education Program, which supports its participants to offset the cost of school supplies and uniforms, as well as secondary school scholarships. Read more!

To support the growth of girls soccer and encourage quality youth coaching in and around Granada, SWB Granada staff frequently host coaches clinics and coach local gym classes, supporting local infrastructure through equipment donations and coaching resources.

US Staff

Mary McVeigh, Program Director: mary@soccerwithoutborders.org

Larkin Brown, Program Coordinator: larkin@soccerwithoutborders.org

In-Country Staff

Josh Hardester, Local Program Director: josh@soccerwithoutborders.org

Cesar Morales, Education Program Coordinator, Bookkeeper, Team Leader- Mariposa Seniors: cesar@soccerwithoutborders.org

Veronica Balladares, Team Leader- Sweet Lake: veronica@soccerwithoutborders.org

Jennifer Bell, Team Leader- Mariposa Seniors, M&E Associate: jenn@soccerwithoutborders.org

Estefan Bolanos, Equipment Manager; Team Leader- Sweet Lake: estefan@soccerwithoutborders.org

Collin Burks, Team Leader- Estrellas, M&E Associate: collin@soccerwithoutborders.org

Hassell Chavez Bustamante, Team Leader- Mariposa Juniors; Social Media; Scholarship Advisor: hassell@soccerwithoutborders.org

Eden Guadamuz, Team Leader- Princesas; Goalkeeper Coach: eden@soccerwithoutborders.org

Fatima Lopez, Assistant- Princesas

Helen Ramirez Montiel, Team Leader- Estrellas; Scholarship Advisor: helen@soccerwithoutborders.org

Cathlene Webster, Team Leader- Mariposa Juniors and Princesas, Marketing Associate: cathlene:@soccerwithoutborders.org

 From left to right: Cat Webster, Hassell Bustamante, Jenn Bell, Helen Ramirez, Collin Burks, Eden Guadamuz, Allie Horwitz, Cesar Morales, Veronica Balladares, Estefan Bolanos

 

Partners

Activyst

FENIFUT

FIFA's Academia de Talentos

Hotel Con Corazon

US Embassy in Managua

Highlights

The second phase of the Inter-American Women's Soccer Exchange is complete! Check out the stories on ESPNW and the Valley News.

New mural at FSF community center

Copa Lucrecia Lindo supports FSF

Activyst bags encourage girls to get active and support FSF

Los Juegos Olimpicos de FSF from Soccer Without Borders on Vimeo.

 

Meet the participants of SWB Granada

Futbol Sin Fronteras Granada from Soccer Without Borders on Vimeo.